Author Topic: What voltage would a core unit need through it's expansion port?  (Read 185 times)

soop

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2828
What voltage would a core unit need through it's expansion port?
« on: September 25, 2012, 03:20:42 AM »
I'm guessing it bypasses the regulator?  Basically I'm gonna battery power that and a screen - can I get away with 7.4 volts do you think?  The screen takes 5v fine, but the PCE doesn't (through the regular port),  Would I actually need to pass it through the regulator?  Or stick a regulator between the battery and the port?

Frank_fjs

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 617
Re: What voltage would a core unit need through it's expansion port?
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2012, 03:28:25 AM »
Pretty sure the PCE would require 5V from the expansion port, and not a drop more due to it bypassing the regulator. The fuse and power switch are also bypassed.

I'd wait until someone else can confirm though as I'm not 100% sure and I'd hate for you to blow up your PCE.

soop

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2828
Re: What voltage would a core unit need through it's expansion port?
« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2012, 04:18:27 AM »
Thanks man :)  to be fair though I do have a few lying about :D

I could probably disconnect the regulator and move it round back if need be?