Tech and Homebrew > PC Game Development

Neutopia 3D ;)

(1/8) > >>

nodtveidt:
This is something I mess around with occasionally in my spare time... whenever that happens. :) Since I have quite the interest in Heretic modding, I figured it might be fun to turn Neutopia into a first-person shooter. Here's a little bit of how it's turned out so far.

nodtveidt:
I hope the images show up. :)

TheClash603:
Very cool.  Port it to the Sega Saturn :)

FiftyQuid:
That is cool.  How long does something like this take you?  I have zero knowledge on stuff like this.

nodtveidt:
It's been a few weeks on and off over the course of some months now... this kind of thing is impossible with the original game engine, so this is using the GZDOOM engine with some high-resolution textures and model packs for Heretic, plus some sprites I whipped up myself (mainly decorations and NPCs). Stuff like this takes awhile, especially to do it right, and since this is a lot more advanced than your typical classic first-person shooter, it's taken even longer than usual just to get to this point.

It's required tons of ACS scripting, and almost every object in the game is custom using DECORATE definitions. The "bridge over water" isn't possible in most source ports, so GZDOOM is required for that, plus for the dynamic lights that are used all over the place. In the dungeons, the rooms are rather dark, so I created a dynamic light that follows the player. Boom bombs work differently... you toss them and they explode on impact (they will blow your ass up too so you gotta watch it) but they still blow up walls (this required a LOT of special tricks). They're also considered a weapon here rather than an option. The fire wand works roughly the same as in the base game so far... but I've only added the short-distance fireball attack for now.