Author Topic: Am I frying my system cards?  (Read 1153 times)

Pfloydguy2

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 46
Am I frying my system cards?
« on: January 08, 2018, 09:40:10 AM »
Hello, gang.  I came here hoping to run this issue past the experts.

A few years ago I bought a used Turbo setup consisting of the original US base unit, a turbo booster, and the white Turbo CD unit, plus cables etc. It was refurbished but looked to have been well cared-for, and it worked well for me for awhile. I bought a new Japanese System Card 3.0 via ebay, and a HuCard converter new from Telegames. These also worked well, but after a few months the Turbo stopped recognizing the System Card 3.0. So I bought a used Arcade Pro system card from a very reputable local shop. This also worked well for me for awhile, but yesterday my Turbo stopped recognizing my Arcade Pro card.

Could my converter unit be frying my system cards somehow? I can't seem to find any similar stories online. I'm still rather new to the TurboGrafx, and with all the goofy system card requirements and other quirks, I'm not sure if I'm doing something wrong.  Is this a common issue?  And is it safe to assume my system cards are done for?  I've attached some photos of my setup below.

Please let me know your thoughts.





(EDIT:  ...and my photos aren't showing up.  Sorry.)
« Last Edit: January 08, 2018, 09:43:06 AM by Pfloydguy2 »

Purple1308

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 122
Re: Am I frying my system cards?
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2018, 10:17:05 AM »
If not your converter is dying on you


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

LowRes

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 117
Re: Am I frying my system cards?
« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2018, 11:22:10 AM »
I would suspect the converter aswell

Since you already have the cd-rom2 unit, I’d ask Keith Courage on here to sell you a IFU briefcase unit and maybe a region modded pc engine.  I see him post good deals on that kind of setup.  Or just get a turbo everdrive and use that as your system card.  Many people I think go that route

Started a US TurboGrafx-16 Collection in 2017! ... Then I moved on to PC Engine

Pfloydguy2

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 46
Re: Am I frying my system cards?
« Reply #3 on: January 08, 2018, 12:24:17 PM »
Thanks!  I do have a Turbo Everdrive, and I tried last night to get it to work as a system card, but the games showed up glitchy.  I might not have the right system card files.  But as I understand it, if a game needs the extra ram of a legit system card, then using the Turbo Everdrive as your system card will not work.  Is that correct?  Is there a game you could recommend to test this?

Also, a dying converter does make sense.  I bought it new and have barely used it though, so I'd hope that wasn't it.

LowRes

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 117
Re: Am I frying my system cards?
« Reply #4 on: January 08, 2018, 12:35:30 PM »
Thanks!  I do have a Turbo Everdrive, and I tried last night to get it to work as a system card, but the games showed up glitchy.  I might not have the right system card files.  But as I understand it, if a game needs the extra ram of a legit system card, then using the Turbo Everdrive as your system card will not work.  Is that correct?  Is there a game you could recommend to test this?

Also, a dying converter does make sense.  I bought it new and have barely used it though, so I'd hope that wasn't it.

I’ve never used a everdrive myself so hopefully somebody who does can help you out.  Maybe it’s an issue with your model or firmware?  I know guys use them as system cards instead of having to purchase the US super system card which is expensive.
Started a US TurboGrafx-16 Collection in 2017! ... Then I moved on to PC Engine

Keith Courage

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2670
Re: Am I frying my system cards?
« Reply #5 on: January 08, 2018, 02:08:31 PM »
Which everdrive do you have? Any Version 1 meaning V1 1.1 1.2 etc.. can only be used as a CD system 2.1 or lower card. Only the newer Everdrives V2 on up can do a super system CD card. You also need the correct patched file for it to work. The regular Bios rom alone will not work until you patch it.

Also, have you tried backing the systems cards out of the converter slightly? Sometimes the pins of those get gummy and require cleaning. Backing them out of the slot slightly usually works if the pins are not clean enough to get it going.
« Last Edit: January 08, 2018, 02:10:37 PM by Keith Courage »

Pfloydguy2

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 46
Re: Am I frying my system cards?
« Reply #6 on: January 08, 2018, 02:52:40 PM »
Which everdrive do you have? Any Version 1 meaning V1 1.1 1.2 etc.. can only be used as a CD system 2.1 or lower card. Only the newer Everdrives V2 on up can do a super system CD card. You also need the correct patched file for it to work. The regular Bios rom alone will not work until you patch it.

Also, have you tried backing the systems cards out of the converter slightly? Sometimes the pins of those get gummy and require cleaning. Backing them out of the slot slightly usually works if the pins are not clean enough to get it going.
You, sir, are a god among men.  Turns out I had my converter pushed in too far into the console.  My arcade card lives!  I can't tell you how happy this makes me...to say it makes my whole month is an understatement. 

I've been so blown away by the Turbo.  I can't believe I grew up without knowing games could be this impressive in the 90s.  I was so bummed when it stopped working...I wanted to explore the library but didn't want to pour any more money into my console if it was just going to keep giving me problems.

But now I might need to consider that copy of Saphire at my local shop....

Thanks, Keith Courage, and everyone else who commented.

Necromancer

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21336
Re: Am I frying my system cards?
« Reply #7 on: January 09, 2018, 01:08:13 AM »
I'm glad it's all working for ya.  :mrgreen:

As for Sapphire, it's a sweet game but make sure it's a legit copy and not a Tobias fake before you shell out all your pennies.
U.S. Collection: 97% complete    155/159 titles

Alt-Nintega2

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 80
Re: Am I frying my system cards?
« Reply #8 on: January 15, 2018, 12:34:28 PM »
What is that white CD unit? I thought the Turbo CD units are black. Is that modded?
Karl Marx

Pfloydguy2

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 46
Re: Am I frying my system cards?
« Reply #9 on: January 15, 2018, 12:43:37 PM »
That's just the way it was when I bought it.  I've always assumed it was the CD unit that was intended to go with the white PC Engine, but I'm probably among the least-knowledgable members here when it comes to NEC hardware.  It's not modded, but I was told when I bought it that it had been re-capped.  Whether that refers to just the Turbo, just the CD unit, or both, I'm not sure.

tbone3969

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 792
Re: Am I frying my system cards?
« Reply #10 on: January 15, 2018, 01:22:24 PM »
That’s the PC Engine CD player.  Google PC Engine Briefcase.
"There's something out there in those trees and it ain't no man. We're all gonna die."

Purple1308

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 122
Re: Am I frying my system cards?
« Reply #11 on: February 21, 2018, 12:37:53 PM »
What is that white CD unit? I thought the Turbo CD units are black. Is that modded?
No its probably a japanese one since america and japan run on 60hz so it doesnt affect it

Sent from my SM-T377V using Tapatalk