Author Topic: Inquiry about the TurboGrafx CD drive for the purposes of ODE  (Read 94 times)

BasementEngineering

Inquiry about the TurboGrafx CD drive for the purposes of ODE
« on: February 01, 2024, 12:08:04 PM »
Good morning folks,

I have a project I have been working on for a few years, and was hoping that this forum would be a good place for information. I apologize to the moderators if I am in the wrong section or being a nuisance.

I have for a number of years, been trying to restomod a cd player from my old car. I have been searching for datasheets and information all over and trying to piece together what I can from what people have scanned in from 35 year old documents. I came across the Console5 tech wiki about the TurboGrafx CD drive and it lists the same chipset that I have in my CD player, with the same RF Amp CXA1081M, DSP CXD1135Q and ram, and the CXA1082BQ Servo Controller. The DAC that comes off of the DSP is also manufactured by NEC for what it's worth. All these elements are controlled for my CD player by a Pioneer co-processor unit that I can't find any info on other than what is in the service manual. I am wondering if you guys could help me understand how these chips interface in your units as I've seen some talk about optical drive emulation for your machines but I haven't been able to nail anything down. The reason I am asking is that I would like to keep the CD player part working (at least electronically), because replacement lasers are no longer a feasible option anymore. If one comes across ebay, they are usually $150-200, and still 35 years old. The suspension wires are usually corroded to where, if they are still intact, they break upon focus calibration.