Author Topic: TurboExpress : Rocgnizing in Software  (Read 982 times)

ccovell

Re: TurboExpress : Rocgnizing in Software
« Reply #15 on: December 11, 2010, 03:51:01 AM »
a pet crusade of mine
Sorry to have stepped on your pet peeve chris.

My original numbers (and please note the 'I think' comment) came from "rec.games.video.* Frequently Asked Questions (part 3 of 3) ". That may not excuse them for being wrong. It's an old document.
In the same document, Section F, is the quote I referred to:
"As for TurboExpress compatibility, I think it can handle the 320x256 mode used
in Y's and others, but I've never tested 512x256...  Interesting!"

Now, personally, I'm a programmer. I tend to think on powers of 2. But on a practical note, it doesn't matter to me whether the horizontal resolution max is 512 or 565. I'm gonna #define it, and forget about it. Same thing for vertical resolution. Once I look it up and #define it, I'm going to promptly forget all about it, unless I need to change it.

AND, for those of you who are interested in programming and such....
I started tearing bomber man apart, and though I haven't found the link option, I did find a rather nifty trick.
Apparently, the game uses two satb tables...

It's no problem; I linked to that post so people could get a sense of history (of the topic).  The Turbo/PCE's VDC/VCE can define its horizontal resolution in increments of 8 pixels and its vertical resolution in individual scanlines, so there is no fixed, standard, or choice of only a few resolutions.  Originally, some old docs said there were like only 2 possible resolutions for the Turbo.  EGM even printed that the Turbo could do 262x240 but the Supergrafx only 256x192... craziness!