Author Topic: Supergrafx Won't Power On, Please help  (Read 396 times)

xemption

Supergrafx Won't Power On, Please help
« on: September 24, 2011, 03:11:02 PM »
Hello, I bought a PC-Engine Supergrafx a few months ago off ebay. I have had it for a few months  and everything ran fine for a while but now the unit will not power up at all. I checked the video cables and they seem to be in working order as well as the power adapter to see if it was plugged in correctly. As far as I can tell it must be a power supply or board related issue because there is no LED light indicator for power to tell if the Supergrafx is getting power or not.   The power adapter I'm using is the type you can adjust the tip I got from Radioshack.....9V 300MA which this what the Supergrafx requires as it did not come with the original. I opened it up I have limited board knowledge but I know the capacitors seem fine (Non-Bulging on Top). However the piece where the power cord plugs into, the wires that go from it to the board look like the insulation may have been burned a tad bit, could this be it because Im not sure if it was already like this or not?  Not really sure what caused this, should I of used a downstep converter?  I thought it be ok without it here in the US on this system.  I'm not sure and if I were to get this fixed how much would it cost me to fix and does anyone know someone who works on Supergrafx systems? Just need a little help here Im hard pressed for answers to whats wrong, Any suggestions? Thanks a lot

xemption

Re: Supergrafx Won't Power On, Please help
« Reply #1 on: September 24, 2011, 03:15:49 PM »
Also I just noticed on the board that there is a fuse on the left side of the board that says 125v on the side, does anybody know what this does? Could this have anything to do with the unit not powering up if this fuse is no good?

thesteve

« Reply #2 on: September 24, 2011, 03:32:30 PM »
300 mA is too small of a supply, and likely burned out.