Author Topic: Should I buy a PC-FX or a Turbo Duo?  (Read 403 times)

TheGreatWrestlerVACANT

Should I buy a PC-FX or a Turbo Duo?
« on: June 22, 2002, 07:16:00 AM »
Hi, It's my first time posting here, and I'm considering purchasing a PC-FX or a Turbo Duo but am not entirely certain which one I should choose.

On the one hand, the PC-FX only has Japanese games which is actually a pro for me as I'm trying to learn Japanese at the moment.  I've heard the PC-FX has really great 2D graphics and plenty of great anime games.  I'm really interested in buying one.

On the other hand, the Turbo Duo has a larger selection of games as well as a greater variety.  The graphics aren't as good as the PC-FX but the Duo has plenty of great games that I've already tried out and liked, and I'm also really interested in buying one.

So the dilemma here is that I really want to buy both consoles but can really only afford one of them, and I have no idea which one to choose.  Can you guys help me out and tell me which one you'd recommend that I buy along with the two games for the console you'd most highly recommend to me.   I'd greatly appreciate it.  Thanks.

RURUiNa

Re: Should I buy a PC-FX or a Turbo Duo?
« Reply #1 on: June 23, 2002, 06:45:00 AM »
My advice is to go with a turboduo. The PC-FX will have nothing to do with learning japanese. I know. Some years ago I was learning japanese and bought a PC-FX. I didn't have much fun and wondered why the hell it seemed everyone liked the PC-FX. I sold it rather quickly.. Learning japanese is a big undertaking, and for the most part, it'll take you years and years before a japanese videogame will make much sense. As for games without much japanese required, a person with no japanese knowledge can pretty much understand these by using a kana table and dictionary. anyway these games are few and far between.