Author Topic: Circuit board catasrophe  (Read 203 times)

anovah

Circuit board catasrophe
« on: February 09, 2014, 06:24:16 AM »
Unfortunately my TurboDuo was giving me some more audio problems (I had already gone in and replaced the post op-amp caps) and then disaster struck! The entire pad seems to have come up and now I can't attach anything to it.  On top of that, cleaning some of the leakage with isopropyl seems to have exposed some copper.

What have I done?!

I've attached a couple pictures and the first thing that should be clear is that I'm a rank amateur learning on expensive equipment.

Photo #1 has four arrows.  The red one I'm not too worried about except that half the pad did come up and I'm not sure if that's still making a good connection.  The white arrow shows the missing pad and I'm wondering if I can solder the capacitor in at the yellow and black arrows.

Photo #2 is the exposed copper.  There might be a little solder touching it, it's tough to tell.

Basically, I don't know how much damage I've done here or if this thing is even repairable.  I'm hoping I don't have a fancy looking paperweight on my hands.

ANY help is EXTREMELY appreciated.

Keith Courage

Re: Circuit board catasrophe
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2014, 06:33:31 AM »
when the pads lift up like that you're left with two options. you can scrape off some of the green trace next to where the pads lifted off of and solder to that instead.

however, what I like to do is just simply run one of the capacitor leeds through one of the via holes next to one of the pads. you can then either solder the lead of the capacitor to the via hole or what I prefer is actually solder the other end of the capacitor underneath the board to wear it actually runs too.
« Last Edit: February 09, 2014, 06:35:11 AM by Keith Courage »

anovah

« Reply #2 on: February 09, 2014, 06:40:19 AM »