Author Topic: Hacking tools  (Read 246 times)

Bonknuts

Hacking tools
« on: September 18, 2015, 12:20:16 PM »
Mednafen is a great tool, but the more the better. Bizhawk offers trace logging, but there's something I've been using lately that can be specifically tailored per game or feature; LUA scripting. Bizhawk supports this as well. It's fairly powerful; it can overlay text and video directly over the emulator as well as log to a console window. You can read, write, and call functions on memory access (execution, read, write, etc). It's fairly powerful. With bizhawk, you can run multiple lua scripts, manually pause and resume, etc.

Gredler

Re: Hacking tools
« Reply #1 on: September 18, 2015, 03:18:36 PM »
Thank you for the insight Bonknuts.

I am so new to this whole workspace that I have no experience with current tools, the last emulator I downloaded was Nesticle before getting into this dev situation with DK.

I had heard about Mednafen and was wondering if that's the better option to bizhawk, but bizhawk is what DarkKobald has been using, so I wanted to have the same working environment as him, hence I've been using it as well.

I haven't toyed with lua or any of the scripting tools, but it would be really nice if I could create a debug palettes and sprites/tiles tool using a lua generated interface, do you think that's something bizhawk could support if I were to take the time to investigate?

I initially got involved in the Catastrophy project with hopes of getting a testbed to view spritework and tilemaps on the platform- basically a whitebox for artists to test assets. I am able to view the palettes that DK sets up, and swap out images that he spawns, but beyond that I am stuck limited by what he has implemented, and without programming knowledge I can not create scripted tools to control runtime changeable elements such as the palettes and tilemap assignment.