Author Topic: What can cause PC-FX to not output any video?  (Read 99 times)

retromaniacjames

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
What can cause PC-FX to not output any video?
« on: May 19, 2021, 11:01:40 PM »
What can cause a PC-FX system to not output any video signals? Currently getting my first system and it has no video output but I want to fix that.

Necromancer

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21030
Re: What can cause PC-FX to not output any video?
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2021, 12:57:27 AM »
I'm no repair guy, but smart guys chops and steve (from chat) said to make sure it has power (boots game, outputs sound, whatever) and to try both composite and s-video if you haven't already.
U.S. Collection: 97% complete    153/157 titles

retromaniacjames

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: What can cause PC-FX to not output any video?
« Reply #2 on: May 20, 2021, 06:33:31 AM »
I'm buying the system from someone and he told me it has no video last time he checked. Once it get here I will be sure to check that, also plan to check the connections for the av ports.

retromaniacjames

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: What can cause PC-FX to not output any video?
« Reply #3 on: June 11, 2021, 01:59:54 PM »
okay just got the system in the mail today, when powered on the screen displays a greyish color and that is all. Any suggestions on what could be causing it?

Necromancer

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21030
Re: What can cause PC-FX to not output any video?
« Reply #4 on: June 12, 2021, 12:54:30 AM »
It's hard telling with not much to go by, but chop's guess is caps if it's not been recapped; and if it has, either a bad trace or bad contact on a cap.


Nevermind that.  He thought I was asking about a TE.  :lol:

Did you try both composite and s-video?  Any difference at a between them if you did?
« Last Edit: June 12, 2021, 01:03:44 AM by Necromancer »
U.S. Collection: 97% complete    153/157 titles