Author Topic: The quest to save my CDROM base unit  (Read 646 times)

nodtveidt

The quest to save my CDROM base unit
« on: May 15, 2007, 02:57:38 PM »
Okay, the gamebit showed up today in the mail, and the first thing I did was remove the whopping 3 security screws that the thing was held together with. I've looked the thing over a bit...no funky smells, no leaky capacitors, no obvious burnouts, no mechanical malfunctions. I know more about electronics than the average Joe but I'm no electronic engineer. Anyone have any suggestions as to what to look into? For the record, here's the details:

-The power supply is more than adequate (12V 1.5A), so that's not the problem
-The CDROM unit itself and the TG16 deck both work properly
-The TG16 deck worked with the original CDROM base unit, so I know the TG16->base unit interface is fine on the TG16 deck
-All the cables seem to be properly secured, so that's unlikely to be an issue
-The CDROM unit seems to make the connection at the two popup metal things, whatever that stupid thing is all about...I guess I could short that manually to make sure

If I get this thing working, I'm definitely going to replace all those damned stupid security screws with normal screws. What a pain in the ass!

I can post pics of the disassembled beastie if anyone wants, if that will help.

nat

Re: The quest to save my CDROM base unit
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2007, 04:51:26 PM »
The other day my TurboGrafx-CD deck died a mysterious silent death.

I was furious; my life was over.

A halfrack of Corona and a stroke later, I realized the "lock" knob on the right side of the unit (locks the CD player in place) had been bumped slightly when I was f*cking with the cables.

Apparently if this knob is in any position but completely locked, the entire unit will not power up. No white screen, no nothing.