Author Topic: REPAIR GUIDE - TurboDuo/PC Engine Duo: Total capacitor replacement chart  (Read 15566 times)

grahf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 880
Actually I'm still in Japan. I came across a white PCE in a junk pile, and here I am.

Keith Courage

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2656
I have one more cap replacement question. There are two caps on this board that seem impossible to get to from underneath even though they were originally soldered from underneath(circled in red). Would I be safe soldering new ones in from above?

Uploaded with ImageShack.us
« Last Edit: March 25, 2011, 02:02:56 PM by Keith Courage »

BlueBMW

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4346
To do those two you need to bend up the BA chip on the bottom and temporariliy remove that pad under it.  Then you can access the solder points of those caps.
[Sun 23:29] <Tatsujin> we have hard off, book off, house off, sports off, baby off, clothes off, jerk off, piss off etc

Keith Courage

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2656
Huh really? Is it okay to bend that up a little?

Keith Courage

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2656
Okay, I got it. Bent up just a bit to get the soldering iron tip under there. Thanks for the advice. I have replaced many caps on these before. Just not all of them at once for preemptive maintenance. Usually I just change the bad ones and call it at that.

BlueBMW

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4346
Huh really? Is it okay to bend that up a little?

I should have added "carefully" to that!  I have replacement BA chips if you manage to break one somehow
[Sun 23:29] <Tatsujin> we have hard off, book off, house off, sports off, baby off, clothes off, jerk off, piss off etc

Duo_R

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3302
I just replace those ones from the top, bending up the BA chip isnt necessary. 
Add my YouTube channel: http://youtu.be/sOg93QUtlg0

For sale trade list: http://tinyurl.com/2csm7kq

Keith Courage

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2656
One more capacitor question. Unfortunately some of the capacitors I ordered in showed up with NP on it and no - or + markings. Is a non-polarized capacitor bad to use?

BlueBMW

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4346
I thought there were specific applications for non polar caps so I want to say don't use them in plavmce of polarized caps.
[Sun 23:29] <Tatsujin> we have hard off, book off, house off, sports off, baby off, clothes off, jerk off, piss off etc

Keith Courage

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2656
Yeah, that's what I was thinking. The ones that came this way were for the few 4.7UF caps on the board. I do have some spare 35V ones. Would that be way too high or should I just get 16V as recommended.

BlueBMW

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4346
You can always use higher voltage, they're just usually larger and can cause clearance issues in some applications.
[Sun 23:29] <Tatsujin> we have hard off, book off, house off, sports off, baby off, clothes off, jerk off, piss off etc

thesteve

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2952
np (non polarized) caps are always safe as replacements for standard.
just never the other way round

goukisama

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Thanks this guide helped me a lot on my pc engine duo. But the Cd drive still wont spin or run. Is there something i'm missing? Or am i going of topic?

thesteve

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2952
My first duo full cap replacement

chop5

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 203
nice steve  :clap:   looks like factory repaired
AKA jetblue
Gentlemen behold...The chopsado!
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v238/jetbue7/prchopsado.jpg tg-16 region converter or some weird bow tie