Author Topic: [entry-level setup] So..which PC-Engine setup should I buy?  (Read 729 times)

nadir

[entry-level setup] So..which PC-Engine setup should I buy?
« on: April 12, 2012, 08:54:22 AM »
Yo.

I want to buy a PC-Engine. I'm new to this and only read the Wikipedia article on the PCE. Here some questions:

1. Which is the setup you would recommend to someone who doesn't want to spend a fortune?
What do you think about this setup?

-PCE
-SuperCD
-Interface Unit
-optional: multiplayer hub
-optional:additional controllers

Anything missing here? Special cables? Or should I get a PCE Duo with everything already included?

2. Do you recommend the SuperCD addon or will I have more than enough to play with a basic PCE unit? I.e., will I be able to play most of the supposedly best games the PCE has to offer with just the basic PCE?

3. Unit JAPAN 0930 <= Does this PCE production series contain any flaws or anything I should know about? There's an eBay auction for the PCE + SuperCD + interface Unit going for less than $200. Hope you don't consider this advertisement, cuz it isn't. :>

I'm a bit in a hurry and don't want to spend hours reading background info. Which is why I made this thread. :>

Arkhan

• Fuck Elmer.
    • Incessant Negativity Software
Re: [entry-level setup] So..which PC-Engine setup should I buy?
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2012, 09:02:26 AM »
You need a system card 3.0 to really enjoy PCE CD games.

The Duo has this built in, as does the Super CD

What you want to do is find a

Duo-R/RX (preferably an R, as they are usually cheaper)
a Briefcase Unit + System Card 3.0 or the Arcade card pro

These are the easiest to find cheap.
[Fri 19:34]<nectarsis> been wanting to try that one for awhile now Ope
[Fri 19:33]<Opethian> l;ol huge dong

I'm a max level Forum Warrior.  I'm immortal.
If you're not ready to defend your claims, don't post em.

esteban

« Reply #2 on: April 12, 2012, 09:13:35 AM »