Author Topic: PC Engine LT with No Backlight - Help Needed  (Read 573 times)

mbrayf

PC Engine LT with No Backlight - Help Needed
« on: November 01, 2008, 04:36:41 AM »
Good Afternoon All,  I have a LT which is working great apart from one thing... the backlight has ceased to work, which is causing a few headaches. If anyone has had this problem before or knows how to fix, I would be very grateful. I am a newb here so please be gentle (sunteam_paul recommended this forum, so thanks go out to him in advance).
« Last Edit: November 03, 2008, 08:39:21 PM by mbrayf »
Too many consoles, not enough time!!!!

mbrayf

Re: PC Engine LT with No Backlight - Help Needed
« Reply #1 on: November 10, 2008, 11:27:30 PM »
OK, as no one seems to have had this problem before, is there anyone who can point me to a guide to taking the screen apart to get at the bulb to test it???? I would have a go blind but I am scared of buggering up my working LT.

kid_rondeau

« Reply #2 on: November 10, 2008, 11:31:58 PM »
Dude, I WISH I had an LT to have a problem with...I think that those of us who are fortunate enough to have one probably wouldn't want to take them apart if we didn't have to. I wish you luck in your search though.

Duo_R

« Reply #3 on: November 11, 2008, 06:50:54 PM »
sounds like a vid cap fix to me. See Nat's post if you want to DIY:

http://www.pcenginefx.com/forums/index.php?topic=5015.0
Add my YouTube channel:

For sale trade list: http://tinyurl.com/2csm7kq

mbrayf

« Reply #4 on: November 11, 2008, 11:29:19 PM »
sounds like a vid cap fix to me. See Nat's post if you want to DIY:

http://www.pcenginefx.com/forums/index.php?topic=5015.0

Thanks for the advice... but the screen is working as it was designed, if you shine a torch on to it apart from blinding you the grafx are all present and correct, just no backlight.  :(

If this cap replacement will cure this (verification needed) i will do it with pleasure and post pics of the before and after...

chop5