Author Topic: HuC/ Magic Kit running concerns or alternatives?  (Read 1928 times)

Hippokittie

HuC/ Magic Kit running concerns or alternatives?
« on: May 15, 2017, 11:15:20 AM »
I am rather new to working with PCE games, and have programmed with C in the past. I tried downloading and using both Magic Kit and HuC. Neither of them are allowing me to use them. HuC doesn't create the PCE files, only Assembly files. Magic Kit just tells me I have the wrong operating system (Windows 7). I tried running different HuC versions, all with the same concerns. With that, I was advised there are other programs to program in C for PCE. Any advice on what to do to get either to work or to replace them? Thanks!

elmer

Re: HuC/ Magic Kit running concerns or alternatives?
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2017, 11:55:51 AM »
Which version of HuC are you using, and where did you get your Magic Kit?

What command line are you using to compile the C file?
What other files are in the same directory with your .c file?
Have you set up your Windows path? If so, to what?
Have you set up the PCE_INCLUDE environment variable? If so,  to what?
Are you comfortable with the Windows Command Prompt?
What *exactly* are the error messages that you get?

Have you checked out the latest version of HuC that's linked to on this page ...
http://www.pcenginefx.com/forums/index.php?topic=20120.msg436168#msg436168

Hippokittie

« Reply #2 on: May 15, 2017, 02:46:19 PM »
Which version of HuC are you using, and where did you get your Magic Kit?

What command line are you using to compile the C file?
What other files are in the same directory with your .c file?
Have you set up your Windows path? If so, to what?
Have you set up the PCE_INCLUDE environment variable? If so,  to what?
Are you comfortable with the Windows Command Prompt?
What *exactly* are the error messages that you get?

3.21 is the version I am using of HuC (downloaded the one you sent me with similar concerns)
I got both from zophar.net